5 May 2022

We are delighted to announce that we have made the shortlist for this year’s Charity Awards, the longest-running and most prestigious awards scheme in the charity sector.

Ovacome has been shortlisted in the Medical Research Category for its project working to reduce health inequalities in ovarian cancer treatment and support. The project works to address barriers experienced by underrepresented communities and ensure that support services are accessible to all.

The Charity Awards is the sector’s most highly-regarded excellence recognition scheme. All 30 shortlisted charities this year have been judged by an independent panel of sector leaders as having demonstrated best practice in leadership and management, from which other organisations can learn. 

The Charity Awards, which announces its shortlist today (11 May), is the charity world’s longest-running, biggest and best-known awards ceremony. This year’s charities have been judged by an independent panel of charity leaders as having demonstrated outstanding best practice in leadership and management, from which other organisations can learn.

The ten category winners, plus the recipients of the Overall Award for Excellence and the Daniel Phelan Award for Outstanding Achievement, will be announced at a black-tie dinner on 16 June, held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London.

The evening will be hosted by broadcaster and commentator Ayesha Hazarika, who will be joined on the night by a host of celebrities, representatives of the shortlisted charities, as well as leaders from Britain’s best known and best loved charities.

Matthew Nolan, chief executive of Civil Society Media, which organises the Charity Awards, congratulated Ovacome on making the highly-coveted shortlist. He said:

“The breadth and quality of the work being done by charities across the UK continues to astonish. Ovacome should be very proud to have made the shortlist.

“For 22 years the Charity Awards have been identifying and celebrating the fantastic work that UK charities do. Our rigorous judging process highlights those charities with the most innovative ideas and the most effective approaches to delivering real change.

“All the nominees on this year’s shortlist are examples of large and small charities who are truly leaders in their field. I wish Ovacome the very best of luck on the night.”


Peter Hugh Smith, chief executive at CCLA, Overall Partner of the Charity Awards, said:

“The Charity Awards celebrate the pinnacle of charitable endeavour and this year’s entries are no exception. CCLA is delighted to support the Awards and to help promote the fantastic work that the sector is doing across the UK.  We wish [your charity’s name here] the very best of luck.”


The Shortlist 2022:

Arts, Culture & Heritage

Centre for Ageing Better

Immediate Theatre

Services for Education


Campaigning & Advocacy

Surviving Economic Abuse




Children & Youth

Forget Me Not Children’s Hospice

New Horizon Youth Centre




Brain Injury Matters (NI)

Fleetwood Beach Wheelchairs

Pure Innovations


Education & Training

Action Tutoring


World Jewish Relief


Environment & Conservation

FareShare UK

In Kind Direct

YHA England & Wales


Grantmaking & Funding

Edinburgh Dog & Cat Home

Macmillan Cancer Support

Smallwood Trust


Healthcare & Medical Research



St John Ambulance


International Aid & Development

The Lotus Flower

Pump Aid

Tea Leaf Trust


Social Care, Advice & Support

Back on the Map

Cyfannol Women’s Aid

Ripple Suicide Prevention


For more information about the Charity Awards 2022, please contact:

Jenni O’Donovan, 020 7819 1200, [email protected]


The panel of judges for 2022 is:

  • Su Sayer OBE
  • Rachel Cockett, director of development, Birmingham Museums Trust
  • Ruth Davison, chief executive, Refuge
  • Martin Edwards, chief executive, Julia’s House
  • Sarah Ellis, director of digital development, Royal Shakespeare Company
  • Yvonne Field, founder and CEO, the Ubele Initiative
  • Richard Hawkes, chief executive, British Asian Trust
  • Kris Murali, director of finance and resources, the Scout Association
  • Cathy Phelan-Watkins, owner and director, Civil Society Media
  • Shane Ryan, global executive director, the Avast Foundation
  • Sharika Sharma, head of business development, CCLA
  • Chris Sherwood, chief executive, RSPCA
  • Priya Singh, chair, NCVO
  • Paul Streets, chief executive, Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales
  • Nicola Toyer, head of charities, Investec


Notes to editors:


The Charity Awards 2022, now in its 23rd year, is organised by Civil Society Media, publishers of Charity Finance, Fundraising and Governance & Leadership magazines and www.civilsociety.co.uk.


The Charity Awards is sponsored by CCLA.  CCLA received the highest possible grade (A+) in the most recent Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) survey for its approach to stewardship, ESG integration, in both listed equity and property, and our wider responsible investment strategy and governance. It is also a ‘Tier One’ signatory to the UK Stewardship Code.